MICHELIN TIRE - PILOT STREET 2 for SHERMAN (Tubed or Tubeless ? How to install?)

WILSONEUC

Just ordered MICHELIN TIRE - PILOT STREET 2 - FRONT - 80/90-14 - 46S 63992 (Tubeless) for Veteran Sherman (Jan 2021) 

Im new to the specifics of tire changes for EUC's. Hopefully this post helps others as well.

Questions:

• Should I use the tire as tubeless or convert to tubed? If so, which tube do you recommend for this tire?
  • How to install a tube to a tubeless tire?
  • Steps to install Tubeless only  to rim?
Edited by CyberV0LT
  • Upvote 1

16 hours ago, Funky said:

Not worth installing tubeless.. (Too much hassle honestly.. Rim doesn't have that "lip", so air doesn't leak. You need to gat that "valve" that screws to rim..) Sure you could do it, some have done it. But not really worth it.

As for tube, simply use your original tube. Nothing changes. Same as Heidenau K66 tire, it is tubeless - we simply use tube, as regular tire.

I hope you got some "screw clamps" at least 3x. Or other tire changing tools. These tires are very hard to mount over rim "lip". I had to clamp down K66 tire so tire bead sits in rim grove. If the bead doesn't sit in the rim grove - good luck getting other side over rim.. Compared to original tires 5102/1488/666 < those are easy peasy lemon squeezy to install. (No tools needed at all..) :D 

I used the clamps to press the tire sides together - so it would sit in rim grove.. While mounting other side over rim.

Thank you i appreciate the reply! Tire comes in this wednesday, going to take my time with this (most likely FrenchUSA will be helping me with this), keep you all updated with feel of street tire versus knobby

1 hour ago, CyberV0LT said:

Thank you i appreciate the reply! Tire comes in this wednesday, going to take my time with this (most likely FrenchUSA will be helping me with this), keep you all updated with feel of street tire versus knobby