Power meter for charging your EUC

Mantraguy

I admit, I'm a bit of a tech geek, and like to know that my chargers are working properly, the batteries are taking the correct charge, and the BMS is doing its job in balancing cells and decreasing current towards the end of the charge cycle. I also like to look at actual capacity used during a ride and compare energy usage of my fast rides with slower rides.

I used to use a Charge Doctor but they've been unavailable for a while, and limit out at 100v. So when my Sherman finally arrived, I wanted a way to see how much energy I was 'actually' using (or, specifically, putting back into the battery). The Charge Doctor won't work with the larger 100.8V Sherman battery, so I ordered a few parts and made my own. This is what I came up with:

Wattmeter_1280.thumb.jpg.ebf00f20d4a27419de4a3e1c8a5810a0.jpg

You can't see the GX16-5 ports in the photo, but it connects to the output of your charger at one end, and to the EUC (Sherman, in my case) at the other end. It simply measures the DC voltage, current, and energy (in watt-hours or amp-hours) that has gone from the charger to the EUC during charging. This makes it much more accurate than the smart-meter option (plugging your charger into the AC smart meter), as there's no 'guessing' at efficiencies etc - it's measuring exactly the power being transferred to the EUC from the charger (it takes almost no power to run itself). At any given time, I can see the output voltage, current and power, so it's easy to see that the power is dropping down to just a few watts at the end of the balancing phase. The chargers these days have green lights that indicate some seemingly random point in time when the power has decreased to a pre-set level, but the EUC is still balancing for some time after that light has changed from red to green. With this, I know exactly when all charging / balancing has completed and I can unplug everything.