Solowheel Xtreme Impressions

MvM

Today, I had a meet with Daan from Seattle, who is the proud new owner of this electric Unicycle.

When Daan mentioned he would be visiting the Netherlands (he is originally from the Netherlands), I proposed to meet him to give him a chance to ride my classic 1500W Solowheel model and of course to try the new Solowheel Xtreme myself.

He agreed to meet up and today was the day. The weather was not 100% perfect, but good enough to ride.
After some talking about EU's in general, we went outside and I immediately got the chance to try the Solowheel Xtreme myself.

Daan has only had his SW for just three weeks, whereas I have been riding the older model since June 2014.
I have had a chance to only try a few Airwheel models in the past, and to be honest, was not very impressed by them. Very stiff ride, not very agile and uncomfortable casing.

The Solowheel Xtreme is absolutely the opposite of that.
First of all, the 18" wheel makes for a very comfortable ride in general. Not just on the street, but also on the forest path where we went for a ride.
The pedals are bigger than those on the SW Classic which I like very much.
The Xtreme is a bit taller than the Classic model, but now by much. It is also a little heavier but in riding, this is not very noticable.

What struck me the most in riding the Xtreme is how unbelievable comfortable it is. The SW  Classic model is very responsive and moves in the same way my body moves as I brake or accelerate.  When you lean forward, the SW actually tilts a bit. When braking, the opposite happens. If you are used to a 'stiff' EU, this might feel awkward, but after some use, and especially when doing tight turns or weaving through traffic, it becomes very natural. You don't need to 'force' the SW to go round a corner, it just 'flows' in the direction you want.