Stupid question : how do you handle heavy wheels ??

LeKeiser

Hello everyone,

I'm still a beginner eventhough I've had my 16s for 3 years... Didn't have time to use it, didn't have time to practise enough to get better, broke a shoulder and my hands, Covid, ... I have tons of lame excuses :(
I bought a KS S16 Pro and decided to ride it yesterday. I do love it, but the thing that really puzzles me is : how do you manage heavy wheels?? I mean, more than 30kg. The 16s is around 17 if I'm not mistaken. The S16 Pro is 33kg give or take. When I first mounted my S16, I tried spinning with it. You know, one foot on the ground, and you turn around with the wheel. Well, I almost lost the wheel at the first attempt. It started to escape my leg because it's much heavier than my 16s...
I tried to ride one foot one the wheel and the other pushing and then jumping on the pedal, but again, I felt the wheel was too heavy and had to rely on a nearby wall to stabilize myself.

The S16 is a heavy wheel, compared to the 16s. But I know there are many heaving wheels. So how to you handle them ?? I see videos with guys like move the wheel back and forth as if it didn't weight anything.
I thought I had strong legs, I ride my bike to work all the time. But it seems I'm not at strong as I thought :(

Thanx for your comments :)

You’ll get used to it. I’ve had to buy heavier wheels because there’s nothing else new on the market (with right features). Recently I rode a V11 which I used to own and it felt so small after S22 and Lynx. Like a toy. A heavier wheel is not a problem while riding except for light city commuting. 

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1

lekeiser,

firstly, no need to apologize about anything on this forum.  and dont trivialize what has happened to you in the past... its all important and plays a role in how you are now !!!