Is it ok to ride with this small hole where it is?

onewheelkoregro

I am a diesel tech and by law any sidewall damage that has inner threads exposed is not legally able to drive on the road. Now having said that I do not know much about EUC tire construction but inspected my tire this morning because I couldn't mount the wheel because the tire pressure had gotten too low. So what I'm asking is do I have to replace this tire or is this ok? Inflated the tube and it is holding air

FB_IMG_1697761996585.jpg

I understand that the rules are there to guarantee safety. For peace of mind. For liability purposes. For protecting the lives of passengers and cargo as well as other motorists on the road but....

There is such a thing as exaggeration.

I was born in a place where we had yearly inspections and they're quite meticulous. You're taught to take things very seriously. Spec of rust on brake lines or low tread on a tire. 

Then I moved to asia where vehicles are really used. Sure a few accidents might have been mitigated with better inspections but 99.9999% of the time it's just exaggerated.

Also you'd likely see a bulge if you had a weak sidewall.

Next time tire's off you can put a patch on the inside to reinforce.

• Thanks 1

What tire pressure are you running at?

Assuming you are running an inner tube, if you shine a flashlight at it and look at it closely, do you see any bulging of the inner tube through the tire?

Just curious, how did the sidewall got damaged like that? 

25 minutes ago, techyiam said:

What tire pressure are you running at?

Assuming you are running an inner tube, if you shine a flashlight at it and look at it closely, do you see any bulging of the inner tube through the tire?

Just curious, how did the sidewall got damaged like that?