Any recommendations for good in-helmet headsets?

BKW

I've been avoiding buying in-helmet headsets because in my mind I assume they will be cumbersome inside the helmet, and I also imagine them to be not the best quality. Because of this, I risk safety with a half-helmet but good audio with airpods.

Any in-helmet recommendations that aren't cumbersome with decent audio quality?

I'm a complete newb when it comes to them. Thanks!

Anything in your helmet that 'fits' is going to have small thin speakers so audio quality is generally going to be transistor radio/soundblaster card level. I have a Sena system (lower end of their line, rebranded by HTC) and you can easily figure out that the music is (most probably) music but no, it's not quality sound.

With wind noise and everything else going on my best option has been a JBL Clip mounted on the wheel facing upwards. Tolerable. Not good. And only for places where there is no one else around to be bothered by having the thing at near full blast. No good when wearing the moto helmet though, then I deal with the Sena's "audio".

Edited by Tawpie
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2

• 1 month later...

i use a hockey helmet with the metal front cage:     Bauer 3800 Senior Hockey Helmet & Cage

that front cage has protected my teeth from a couple of faceplants already this past riding season.

i mounted this motorcycle intercom/headset into my helmet:

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B06XFDQ8XS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

now as tawpie described fittingly in his post,  the speakers are tinnie in sound quality.  for this helmet system,  its the same, tinny.  but the

microphone is great and all my calls project my voice quite clearly as my friends attest to that.  the speakers themselves are these small 1.4 inch diameter

speakers mounted in a small plastic case.  i mounted each speaker on small plywood mounts, approximately 3/4 inch away from each ear because they are