Fresh newbie here. I seem to be wobbling a whole lot. Is that normal?

mallowmaru

Hi, very new to EUC. Only tried for a few days, about 30 minutes at a time. I have an S22. I don't know if that's crazy wheel to start, but this is the deal. I've tried one day with a v10f, and I found that the S22 is far more stable with its fatter tires.

That said, I seem to have an issue, and I haven't seen a lot of beginners, so I don't know if this is normal. As soon as I try to ride, I wobble almost immediately, and I'm unable to keep from hard turning and falling. This is at relatively slow speeds (about walking speeds and a little faster). I've practiced both starting by holding a fence, and kicking off. I've managed to keep it together for a good 10 meters at my best. A lot of times I just lose balance very quickly due to the wobble. (Edit, I'd say about half the time when on fence. I'd be able to keep it steady for like 5 meters before serious wobbling)

I have found that squeezing both knees inward (as if I'm holding my bladder) helps so I'll keep doing that.

Edited by mallowmaru
  • Like 2

It's natural to wobble at beginning. (Especially if you accelerate and brake fast.) Anything under 1000km ridden you count as beginner.

Lowering tire PSI can help decreasing wobbles. What PSI are you ridding at the moment and your weight?

I personally could not ride anything over 28psi for first ~300km.. As soon as i got near 20mph, it started to wobble.. Keeping it under 28psi fixed that issue for me. After the 300km ridden mark - i was used to ridding already and could ride what ever PSI i wanted.

Also try riding like this ~~~~~left~~~~~right~~~~~. Don't go completely in straight line ----------- that increases the probability to get wobbles.

Even little bit of shifting weight to right/left are good enough. Take your arms length and ride left/right in that distance, when you're going on somewhat straight path.