Learning to ride w/ exceptional balance.

Weaves

Hi! I'm 30min in learning to ride the mten3. I have a lot of experience in balancing from skiing competitively.

For how confident I am, I do one-leg weighted pistol squats on a bosu ball on leg day and one-leg squats drunk as a party trick. :cheers:

I keep on trying to self balance. When the EUC goes forward, I Immediately counter balance backwards.
When I try and turn I shift my hips to remain centered.

Both cause the wheel to go out of control, while I remain stable.

Does anyone have tips for reducing muscle memory/letting myself go off balance?  Thank You. :D

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I have absolutely no experience in this regard. 

A shot in the dark suggestion would be to try pushing a shopping cart, or a baby stroller of some sort with some weight in it, etc, while you are on your wheel. 

With a specific purpose in mind, I wonder if that would be enough to trick the brain to let your body go unbalanced in a controlled manner forward and backward.

1 hour ago, Weaves said:

Does anyone have tips for reducing muscle memory/letting myself go off balance? 

Presuming you have already developed the mindset that you are on a wheel now, and not skiing, your brain should be able to learn a new set of moves and override previous instincts on a 'per context' basis. I know this is true because I can play piano and organ, which require markedly different playing techniques.

You just have to consciously focus on inputting clear, constant, even instruction to the wheel, which you do with a mostly straight body (slight bend in knees OK) and actively counter any objection muscle memory gives you. Do not lean from the waist.