Riding Backwards.

Scott Henley

So I’ve been riding about 2 months now . I’ve learned how to ride with one leg , so one leg spins , ride slow , carve back and forth ect...but riding backwards is still seemingly impossible for me . As soon as I get going I can’t help but turn sharply to one side or the other . Just wondering how others learned and if there were any tips or tricks . Thanks !

• Like 1

1 minute ago, KingSong69 said:

There is/was a video series of our famous member @Marty Backe , which also motivated me to get going. Is it still existing, marty?

The main trick is just one: Keep practising, over and over and over....

Its about ten to 20 times harder than learning to drive forward, and also the progress is slower.

I am still no expert in doing it.....but if you keep on trying, the reward will come. Sorry to have no other tipps here :-)

I’ve looked for trick riding tutorials on YouTube and can’t reallt find anything other than basic “this is how to ride an EUC “ . It took me about 2 weeks to get the one foot thing down and I just leaned by repeatedly trying different things. I guess I’ll have to do the same with riding in reverse . It would be nice if someone made tutorials for the more advanced skills . 

I will check Marty’s YouTube and see if he has anything . Thanks !

• Like 2

My 2 cents, the keys to my getting backwards:

• Don’t try to make it pretty. Just like when learning forwards, make big S’s, trying to link turns opposite the direction you feel the fall. Straight line backwards will come naturally with practice, comfort, and some speed.
  • Butt lean is key, the opposite of leg/hip lean for going forwards. 
  • The more you feel like you’re gonna fall, the more you should bend your knees. (this helped solidify my backwards) Also, obvious, but arms straight out for balance!