Not wearing safety gear!

So, now that I've been riding for more than 6 months, I am getting more confident in my abilities and starting to go on short rides without armor. I've started taking many 5-20 min runs without gear at lower speeds.

I find it quite liberating. Much like riding a motorcycle without a helmet...not suggested, but the experience is worth it.

When not wearing any protection, I find my safety awareness is a bit greater, I don't hit the higher speeds (or at least as much), being unencumbered by all the safety gear makes it a lot easier to ride (especially head movements), and it's nice (sometimes) just to get the scooter out quickly for a short run.

It took some time to get to this point, but some milestone include;

1) Having experienced a few falls/collisions. It's good to know what can cause a fall and how to react. You have to learn that first!

2) Being able to multitask. One goal I had was using my cell phone while riding. It took a couple months to comfortably get to that point, but now it is fairly easy.

3) Knowing your path. The biggest lesson I have learned is that safety gear is the most valuable thing when riding in a new place. When you have taken the same path many times, it's much easier.

Of course, I continue to highly recommend safety gear in general. I wear my armor on ALL morning rides (I'm NOT a morning person, that's when I have most of my accidents!), ALL high speed rides (anytime I am in a rush), ALL long rides (you never know what detour you might take).

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm glad you are having fun.

Given you have had a few injury falls while wearing gear that have / are taking a while to heal i'm baffled at your decision to do this, even more so that you feel adding a distraction,  such as using your cell phone while riding, is a milestone towards reduced safety gear. :blink1: