How to pass through kerbs

pollytronman

Hi there, 

I'm a newbie with a Ninebot One E+. I have on ly 50km and 7h. I can manage hi speed (20Km/h), turns, tight turns, dodge people in sidewalks, low speed balance, basic maneuverability.

I know this is a recurrent question but I can't find advices to my specific problem: I find it hard to go through kerbs, I mean, lowered kerbs which are > 4cm high. Most times the wheel stops there and I have to jump off in order not to fall. Going down the same kerbs or even higher no problem although I don't like the feel of my feet not contacting the pedals.

Any advice? I have 40PSI in the 16" wheel and I weight 93KG, probably 95 dressed up.

My tire states 35-45 PSI

Much appreciated, 

Curbs...are difficult. One crashes rather a lot doing them but like any difficult skill it can be practiced. 

Here's a guy jumping up curbs way way higher than I can. 

58 minutes ago, pollytronman said:

Any advice? I have 40PSI in the 16" wheel and I weight 93KG, probably 95 dressed up.

My tire states 35-45 PSI

No advice for kerbs.  But at your weight, I would increase the tire pressure to around 45psi.  I ride a 16" wheel at around 40psi and I weigh in riding kit, around 83kg.

I agree with @Smoother... 45psi would be better, as you are a more solid rider. 

The reason your wheel is stopping will be because it doesn't have enough torque to lift the weight. My approach to avoid this is to keep the speed up a little (utilising the momentum) and at the point of the transition to "almost" jump - reducing the weight on the wheel, but not actually losing contact. 

It will take a bit of practice to get the timing right, but it works for me (and I have more weight on my wheel). 

7 hours ago, pollytronman said:

Hi there, 

I'm a newbie with a Ninebot One E+. I have on ly 50km and 7h. I can manage hi speed (20Km/h), turns, tight turns, dodge people in sidewalks, low speed balance, basic maneuverability.