My first unicycle: looking for advice.

MaximB

Hi!

I have been reading this forum for a couple of days now, but I can't make my final choice what unicycle to buy.

At first I was considering Ninebot (Segway) One S2. But at a gadget store I was suggested better to pay attention to Inmotion V8. To me it appeared as a marketing trick, because they didn't have S2 available. However after reading reviews and this forum, indeed, V8 looks superior, though more pricey. Now I know that there are also other brands like KingSong, Gotway and maybe others that could be a good choice too.

Another story is Android app. As a newbie I need a simple way to configure the device and record some metrics during ride. I tried Inmotion app, and it looks just horrible. It requires insane permissions (why would it read my SMS or manage my phone calls?), and it crashes if I disallow some of permissions. Inmotion app also suggests to download some apk file and install it locally (really?). It behaves like a malware. Really, it alienates me from considering V8 as my first unicycle.

Segway app looks better. But it is hard to learn more without actually pairing the app with a device.

I also found WheelLog, which looks pretty nice. It seems to work with KingSong and Gotway.

I need a suggestion, given following conditions:

- My weight is 70 kg;

- Budget: up to $1000 (maybe slightly more if it would make a difference in quality);

- Handle is very desirable (to be able to take unicycle to a store or a train);

- Main goal is to commute to work: around 25 km per day;

- I live in rather hilly area;

Thank you!

Welcome!

For 25km per day...a V8 might already have to less battery if you drive it at highest speed! But the shop was right that a V8 is much better than an S2!

When you see the range they announce...divide it by 2, and you got a more realistic range! 

I would go for the Ks16S for you...but it is more money, or you have to order in China directly.