Gotway/Kingsong protocol reverse-engineering

Tilmann

Easier said than done... while I have designed & written software in Java (the same programming language that Android uses) for living for the last 7 years, I've never before written a "pure" Android-app, so even that's going to take a while to do "properly". While Google Glass is based on Android, I'm under the impression that you just can't take any Android-software and turn it into Glass-software "just like that". At the very minimum, I think I'd need a real device to test with to see what works and what doesn't.

Sorry, I dunno about Google Glass, but I could not resist and sniped a Recon Jet yesterday on ebay (same concept as Glass). They offer a SDK for their product. Actually, it seems to be a set of libraries to plug into the standard android SDK (Jelly Bean version): http://www.reconinstruments.com/developers/

I am not a qualified developer by any means, but I work in an IT department and hope for some advise from Java-savvy colleagues on the usefulness of that SDK in its present early stage. @esaj, as we both live in the EU, maybe we can work something out with shipping that toy back and forth? I see a long winter in our future and at least one of us will stop riding when there's ice on the road :).

The other challenge I see waiting for us, is to extract the necessary telemetric data from our wheels. Sure enough, my Msuper sends at least some of it via Bluetooth, but I haven't seen the interface published anywhere. I got no clue what it takes to reverse engineer such a radio link (i.e. "hack it").

Sorry, I dunno about Google Glass, but I could not resist and sniped a Recon Jet yesterday on ebay (same concept as Glass). They offer a SDK for their product. Actually, it seems to be a set of libraries to plug into the standard android SDK (Jelly Bean version): http://www.reconinstruments.com/developers/