How much attention you're paying to the road ahead?

Herbas

So it's been 50 days since I started riding an EUC :) I use it for my daily commutes to work through the city and so far I was always super-focused on my road ahead, looking for all kinds of surface imperfections, carefully planning how to approach turns/crosses, somewhat ready to fall at any moment.

But I noticed that lately I'm more and more thinking about something else while riding. I guess it's somewhat natural as I'm getting used to EUC riding, but I wonder if I'm not getting overconfident too.

What was your experience in this regard? Do you still carefully study what is ahead of you? Or has it become an entirely "background process" and your mind is occupied by other stuff while riding?

24 minutes ago, Herbas said:

What was your experience in this regard? Do you still carefully study what is ahead of you? Or has it become an entirely "background process" and your mind is occupied by other stuff while riding?

I think I only realised how much I do watch the surface ahead, albeit somewhat unconsciously, when I started riding at night and found the headlight on my KS-14 wasn’t bright enough to see what was there to trip me up, even though I was riding on paths with good street lighting - but with a surface not in the best state of repair! I wasn’t able to get back to full speed at night until I added a nice powerful bike light.

Unless you are riding on very good surfaces and/or with a large (I.e. 18”) wheel such that a surface hazard isn’t too likely to be a problem then, if you truly have stopped watching ahead, I think you may be being over confident and, rather literally will be: “riding for a fall” ?. In practice, I suspect you are still watching but without consious effort.

If you suddenly find yourself flying through the air wondering how you got there, you will know you hadn’t been paying attention!