How to choose a first EUC?

Kaitlyn

I'm tempted to jump in and pick up my first electric unicycle, but there are so many models, generations of models, knockoffs, etc... it gets overwhelming real quick!

How do I actually go ahead and choose a model? They all seem so similar, and especially for the knockoffs  it seems things like battery life, max speed are not always accurate anyway...

I have little experience, but here are my 2c B)

• Choose a safe model for sure; see the discussion about BMS cut-off in the general forum
  • Think about the weight -- you will need to carry the wheel sometimes;
  • Bigger wheel (16"+) => more comfortable and less problems with bumps in the road
  • If you have enough money, I love the Solowheel Xtreme -- very comfortable & robust, very safe, great service.
  • Many people love the Ninebot One E+ (or C+), also safe & comfortable
  • And just do it -- one of the best buys I ever did! B)

Daan's list is solid although I wouldn't worry so much about the weight.  None of them are light and hopefully you'll be riding it more than carrying it!  

I'd suggest you stay away from the knockoffs, but after that pick the one you think looks the best.  The Ninebot was the one I first saw and fell in love with the styling.  I think I enjoy riding it more because I think it looks cool.  

If you find yourself still undecided, pick the more powerful.  It won't be any harder to learn on and once you get going you may really feel held back by a lower power EUC even if you are only just doing basic stuff.