What causes most accidents?

Alexa

Hi all! 

I joined this forum in hope to get some insight on why accidents happen with electric unicycles. I have no experience with them and am doing a little project on whether electric self-balancing devices, motorized skateboards, etc. should be legalised in public areas (in Switzerland) or not.  So, here are my questions:

1. Whenever you had an accident, which category would you place yourself in?  (It would be helpful if you could shortly state what happened as well)
A. self-inflicted, no one else included
B. self-inflicted, other people included (e.g. lost balance in public area and crashed into pedestrian?)
C. device failure
D. other party caused the accident

2. What kinds of injuries did you attain? Was a visit to the hospital needed? How long did it take to fully regenerate?

3. If it were legalised, would you say, that certain protective gear such as a helmet, wrist guards and knee pads should be mandatory?

4. Is it safer to drive on pedestrian walkways, bicycle lanes or the open street? What should the speed limit be for each of the options?

I am thankful for every answer!

Cheers, Alexa

Edit: If you can spare 5 minutes of your time, please fill out the following survey: https://evaluation-app1.let.ethz.ch/TakeSurvey.aspx?SurveyID=78L1n561
The link is also in another thread I have created - just in case you have already come across it. ;)

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply