My first face plant - ouch

JimB

Well I've been riding for a few months and today did my first face-plant.

I was stopped at an intersection downtown (lots of people to witness my failure).  I started to accelerate hard across a wide intersection, and about 15 feet out, my trusty Lhotz gave up and just dumped me forward.  Have to say I wasn't expecting that.  I can understand overleaning, where the wheel can't keep up, but this felt like the pedals just gave way and dropped me.

I hit pretty ungracefully on hands, then head.  Thankfully I was wearing a helmet, as it did smack the pavement pretty hard.  Several people came running over - are you all right?

Minor scrapes on hands and knee.  I think I hyper-extended my right elbow.  Got it on ice.

I think I'll be a little more cautious with wild acceleration.

I always like reading face-planting stories.  Not because I take delight in people hurting themselves but because it is a reminder for the rest of us that EU riders should never get too comfortable and over confident.  Helps the rest of us to regain a little bit of focus which we may have lost from the last face-plant story and in that I believe will help someone reading this not to get injured because they have gotten a little more vigilant.

Glad you were wearing a helmet could have been much worse if you weren't.  Maybe a good idea to invest in gloves, elbow / knee pads.  Entirely up to yourself of cause.  Some elbow pads also help to prevent hyper extensions too.

12 hours ago, JimB said:

<snip>

I think I'll be a little more cautious with wild acceleration.

Yep, I tend to more slowly accelerate (and decelerate) now. Good that nothing too bad happened to you. Unfortunately you probably forever dissuaded a bunch of people from ever trying an EUC ;) 

Thanks for sharing your story. As Chuts wrote, it helps to stay alert at all times.