Kingsong KS 14 hard on my ankle bones ( newbee opinion)

Smoother

I'm new to EUC, Just unboxed ks14c (340wh, 800w).

In my preparation  for this moment I have watched countless YouTube vids and read loads of stuff, here and elsewhere.  My "studies" have lead me to a personal opinion that allowing the top of the unit to wobble from side to side looks like a detriment to learning.  Experienced riders seem to use the wobble to their advantage, as I'm sure most of you do.  But It looked like beginners were being hampered by it and that's why I didn't pull the trigger on a nine bot e+ from Ian? At Speedywheels because it just looked too slim at the top (lovely looking machine though, and great guy). So, for the extra width ( and other reasons) I opted for the 14c.

So I'm standing on it for the first time, trying to get my calves close enough to press against the pads, to stop the unit wobbling left to right, and my ankle bones are dug into the side of the unit, causing pain.  Tried different shoes; no difference.  Tried placing feet further out but now I have an exaggerated knock kneed stance which I am not going out in public with (looks like I need the toilet).  Grabbed some pairs of  thickish socks and placed them between calves and factory pads, AHHHH! So much better.  So here's a question, does anybody at the factory ACTUALLY test their designs before mass producing them?  My ankle bones hit the case exactly where the case becomes wide.  So wearing lifted shoes would not help, and even in socks the contact point is still there.  And no, I don't have unusually proportioned feet or ankles. I thought the "ubiquitous box with a wheel" look, shared by so many EUC's, including 14c looked ridiculously wide, but OMG! Now I'm standing on one, I need it to be 2 to 3 inches wider! ( at the top at least, or 2 inches slimmer around the ankle area)