Wobble reduction

chopsywa

Hi all

I am a newbie. I just got my first EUC, a Gotway MCM V3 260wh. I have watched many Youtube videos and read tips on this forum. I decided against a strap. I am not going to try to keep this pristine. I will call the scratches and war wounds "patina". :)

Anyway, I have been at it for about an hour. I can get on and go now without holding on to something and I can steer around things, but I am not yet trying to turn around. I am riding on lawn which I know is harder, because as I cross driveways it seems really easy, but it preserves me and the wheel.

The issue I have no is wobble. I believe it is to do with foot placement. It will be an issue of overdamping / underdamping similar to the CG in an aircraft. My natural tendency is to think I am too far back, but I think I may actually be too far forward. If I place my feet evenly on the pads, my legs are behind the axle. If I align my legs with the axle, my feet are way forward. 

I guess I have two questions. 

1. Should I centre my feet on the pads, or my legs on the wheel?

2. If I am getting up a wobble, how do I stop it and what am I doing wrong to get it started?

I think it might be time to take a rest and a Scotch. :)

Cheers

Mark

Hey Mark.

What I have found is that your ankle bone, that bony part that sticks out to the side, needs to be lined up with the axle of the wheel. So on my small Huanxi, my toes actually are over the front of the pedal. My shin is just in front of the center line of the calf padding. I'm not so much squeezing the wheel with my calves as I am making sure there is gentle contact. Thats what prevents the wobble. When turning, the inside calve get more pressure.  Bend your knees ever so slightly to absorb bumps, but stand up very straight like you want to show you have perfect posture. 

And I didn't say this, but have a beer...