TG T3 aka Muzeli Electric Unicycle - Side panel issue

So, I really should have taken pictures but I did a repair. I got a TG T3 aka Muzeli Electric Unicycle, which I know is an OEM model that many people end up with here. You know this one:

muzeli3.jpg

The rubber red side pad covers a white plastic panel, that is screwed into place with a bunch of tiny screws. Basically all the screw holes were worn huge on the used one I got, and the whole panel and cushion assembly was held together with caulk. I'm just learning, so when I dropped it the battery was dangling by the wire! This happened a few times.

So I knew I had to attach the panel better. I tried just glue, which lasted about a day, then the battery was swinging scary again.

So I took the panel off, cleaned all the glue off real good with my pocketknife, and cleaned the screw holes. Then I found some larger screws (too large) applied glue and then hand tightened the screws right into the plastic. Feels solid man.

microunicycle-repair1.jpg

I put a bunch of glue on the white panel and slapped the red cushion back on. Put some weight on there; let it cure 24 hours.

Too much glue. Talk about a sticky ankle...

So less glue and some more curing time now; my fingers are crossed. But I think this time around I'm getting out the tape too. Any suggestions on a better way to make the cushion stick?

The screw heads are out a little too far and they make the red rubber cushion a little lumpy. I'll need to change it, because this one is to give lessons on and people will bump their ankles too much. I'd dremel the screw heads down but I guess I should be able to open the thing later eh

Might just add extra cushion on top