Wheel suspension?

esaj

Seeing vee73's motocross-track video, and how hard the wheel jumps up and down all the time, it got me thinking if it would actually be possible to build some sort of suspension into the wheel. After doodling a bit, I went into TinkerCAD (A free simple 3d-modelling tool that runs on your browser) and created a crude basic shape of what I was thinking (not really in scale). It's a kind of a "two-sided swing fork" (if that's even the correct term in english). Now, I don't know if this would ever actually work in real life (it could become too heavy, move the center of gravity too much upwards, simply break under stress etc.), I'm not a mechanical engineer. Or not much of a drawer, or modeler, for that matter, so I'm not even sure if you understand what the image is supposed to be  :D

suspension.jpg

As the motor is inside the hub, the wiring would also need to be able to withstand constant moving, the uppermost axle should never hit the tire (I put it too low in the 3d-image, it's not supposed to be touching the tire)... Lots of mechanical problems ;)

Edit: thinking it further, maybe the "swing arms" aren't even needed..?

suspension2.jpg

You guys got any ideas?

I think your second idea is better, more like motorcycle front forks, keep it simple and light weight, weight is always going to be the problem.

I have discussed the idea with vee73  recently of just putting some compressible hard rubber into the pedal hinges to give a very rudimentary suspension.

Going for a monoshock fork is one of the suggestions I've made in the past but you would still need some form of guide rails to prevent twisting and swivelling.

Weight is also still going to be a factor.

Going for a monoshock fork is one of the suggestions I've made in the past but you would still need some form of guide rails to prevent twisting and swivelling.

Weight is also still going to be a factor.