Onewheel CPSC Warning

Cerbera

I'm only beginning to look at this but I think this thread should be on the general forum as this government statement contains the potential for being highly threatening to our area of concern. Initially this sounds like ignorance on the part of government and then over-reacting.

Edited by Roadpower
  • Upvote 1

15 minutes ago, Roadpower said:

I'm only beginning to look at this but I think this thread should be on the general forum

Yes I umm'd and aah'd about where to put it, but my moderator instincts made me put in the the 'most correct' place :) No doubt Mods here will move it if they think it needs to be somewhere else.

But yes, if those CPSC guys can consider one-wheel's kicking people off occasionally as a supreme threat to safety than god knows what they'd do if they ever saw a Gotway ! :/ Surely the message here should be 'wear your gear', rather than 'Recall everything' and looking for an outright ban.

Edited by Cerbera
  • Like 1

Hopefully the mods will look and discuss. One part of me says that this is utterly ridiculous and will die on the vine if Future Motion (with help from everyone concerned..) will fight this and the other part of me is highly threatened by this because I know how bumbling, stupid and powerful government is.

Here's the original CPSC statement for reference, from which I infer that their problem is with cut-outs. And if that is the case, well then that's really not looking very good for us EUC people either is it ? They cite 'head trauma' as being the cause of the 4 deaths so far, but don't mention if any of those people were wearing helmets, as would seem sensible.

https://www.cpsc.gov/Newsroom/News-Releases/2023/CPSC-Warns-Consumers-to-Stop-Using-Onewheel-Self-Balancing-Electric-Skateboards-Due-to-Ejection-Hazard-At-Least-Four-Deaths-and-Multiple-Injuries-Reported