Pushing 60 and against my families wishes - I just ordered my first EUC!

Grandpa_Jay

Hi Jay, welcome to the EUC forums. I'm a bit of a newbie myself and only have experience with the v-11. I do know that power pads make a huge difference on the v-11 but i don't know if the ks s18 comes with decent pads already or not. Also people seem to like the spiked pedals of which i do not own at the moment. Hope you get your ride soon. I'm sure the fam will get over it when they see how much joy riding an EUC brings you.

• Like 1

I have some thoughts for you! 
I started after 60 by a few years and still love it.

find a shopping cart from the homeless camp and get the feel of it than move to the tennis court .do not put big pads on or spiked pedals on until you can get on and off safety,pads and spikes will keep you from getting off when you are not in full control. I’ve been riding a few years now and still don’t need them.

cheers and never give up!

ps my wive wasn’t happy up front either, I now have 5 wheels ( grandkids)

• Like 3

I'm curious about something, but first, hello! Welcome to the forum. So the question comes to mind is if you are able to do lets say a pratfall on a lawn.  Like when you were a kid you could fall forward and roll and not have a single issue with that. If you can do that even gingerly you may be okay to ride. If not I think it understandably difficult to recommend riding. Also a small wheel scooter is indeed dangerous because the wheels get caught in ruts easy. This danger can be mitigated by very careful observation of the roadway but one little slip will get you.

Obviously the much larger wheel on a EUC largely removes this issue, but not completely. You still need to develop reflexes for irregular pavement issues but it is no where near as bad as the scooter is.