Kingsong 18XL Knobby Tire(s)

kristof_explorer

Hi, I'm relatively new to both eucs and tubed tires, and looking for assistance finding a suitable tire for a Kingsong 18XL. I primarily ride on trails so I'm looking for a good knobby tire. It's my understanding from what I've read here that a 2.50-14 dirt bike tire (like this one) has been found to fit, but beyond that, the tire sizes start getting confusing. This is the only style tire that comes up searching 2.50-14, but some listings refer to it also as 60/100-14, and there are far more options available in size 60/100-14, like this Kenda for example. So I guess, what I want to be sure of, is a 60/100-14 size tire actually interchangeable with a 2.50-14? Or if not, is the 2.50-14 dirt bike tire pretty much my only option?

And, regarding the tube, is my assumption correct that I'll need a size 2.50-14 tube, not 18x2.5, like the stock tube? If so, I'm having difficulty finding one with the necessary angled valve - would I have any problem using an angled adapter with a straight valve?

Thanks so much for any help!

Chris

Yes, 60/100-14 and 2.50-14 are interchangeable, just different standards of measurement.

The original tube is fine for that size, after all they are usually suitable one size up or down.

Besides, straight valves are usually too long to fit an angle adapter in the 18XL.

More info on the sizings:
https://forum.electricunicycle.org/topic/19313-tire-sizes-explained/

Edited by mrelwood
  • Like 1

10 hours ago, mrelwood said:

Yes, 60/100-14 and 2.50-14 are interchangeable, just different standards of measurement.

The original tube is fine for that size, after all they are usually suitable one size up or down.

Besides, straight valves are usually too long to fit an angle adapter in the 18XL.

More info on the sizings:
https://forum.electricunicycle.org/topic/19313-tire-sizes-explained/

Thanks mrelwood! That's exactly what I needed to know.

• Like 1