Engine Oil Pressure Warning Light

I was just pondering how the warning beep on an EUC is much like the engine oil pressure warning light on a car.  It's telling us of imminent failure and yet so many people opt to ignore it.

When I was an automotive engineer we'd so often have a tow truck bring in a car with a totally seized motor.  When questioned the owner would admit 'oh yeah I noticed the oil light was on but kept driving'.  Most warning lights come in one of two colors - Amber or Red.  Amber generally means 'get this looked at soon' whilst Red means 'stop immediately'.  Stopping can save you considerable money.  Fixing the issue may be as simple as topping up the oil.  Continuing may mean a complete new motor.  In worst case scenarios it can even cause a fatal accident if the motor seizes up at an inopportune time.

What worries me is when flying cars become a reality . . . 

8 hours ago, OldFartRides said:

College aged girl of someone I know is on her third engine.

Sounds like she should consider public transport.  Or get an EV.

12 hours ago, Lex Smith said:

I was just pondering how the warning beep on an EUC is much like the engine oil pressure warning light on a car.  It's telling us of imminent failure and yet so many people opt to ignore it.

Usually up to the point of their first faceplant. Some people just have to learn the hard way, human nature for some people.

The problem is, most riders actually know a little too much about their wheels. They know that there is always X amount of speed left after the final beeps (GW for example). So they ride a little more. And assuming they only ride a little over, and it's a flat surface, and they don't accelerate...and...and...the wheel will keep going for as long as the battery lasts. I have seen a few peeps riding the GW final beeps for miles and miles without trouble.