mten3 post-crash performance

Hi all!

I'm a novice rider who bought an mten3 a week ago. I've logged about 150km and felt pretty comfortable getting around town on the road.

Last night I was limit testing its handling at/near the speed limit of the wheel (~35 km/h), when it seemed like the motor shut off and launched me into the intersection. The wheel was at around 55% charge at the time of crash. WheelLog indicated that motor amperage dropped to 0 for a few seconds before the speed dropped from 35 to 0 at the 22:41 mark ((see screenshot belowsee screenshot below). Additionally, the wheel seemed to shut off again going 10km/h when I got back on it after patching up my injuries (see graph at past the 22:50 mark).

MmqKs82.png

Is the initial shut-off normal behaviour for a wheel pushed to max speed? I always figured it'd tilt the pedals back and force you to reduce speed. And what about the second shutoff, going 1/3 of the max speed? I haven't pushed it since the crash, because handling seems jittery at certain angles.

Thanks for the help everyone!

• Like 2

First cutoff, yeah. You were going too fast for your battery state, and maybe too fast for an MTen. They are not intended for either speed or distance—mine (a 67v though) cutout at just under 50% going 14 mph (22 kph). GW assumes you know what you're doing and that you know your wheel, so they don't impose any restrictions... it might have beeped at you, that's the most GW will infringe on your judgement. No tiltback.

Second cutoff... not sure what would have triggered that, you were going slowly enough. Maybe stick to speeds you can run off a cutout until it demonstrates that it's ok?

• Like 1