inmotion v8 cut out for no reason

Steve Evans

folks, 

i am new to riding. my v8 is the only unicycle i have ever ridden (only had for a couple weeks). i bought it from a friend who has had it since new.

this morning, on an almost full charge, rode it out of garage and it just cut out. i face planted on my driveway.

turned it back on and it seems to operating normally. i bounced it around and it seems fine.

i am now scared to get back on it.

any suggestions on finding root cause?

thanks a lot in advance,

steve

• Like 1

2 hours ago, evans036 said:

no...i was barely at walking speed maneuvering around my car on my driveway

EUCs shut off if tilted to their side beyond a certain point. If you turned really sharply going around the car you may have tilted it past that point. You can test it by turning the EUC on and slowly tilting it over until it shuts off. If the pedal hits the ground before it cuts off this probably is not your culprit, but if it shuts off before then it could be the cause and I would recommend adjusting the angle at which it shuts off (if possible). You may be able to adjust the angle through the app. The only other thing I could think of would be a loose wire (which seems very unlikely considering that it works now) or some sort of ultra rare glitch (which is also extremely unlikely, I have never heard of a glitch like that).

• Like 1

Inmotion app allows you to send a diagnostic info to the company. Like a black box. AFAIK it works like this: you upload the logs and get in touch with the company (probably indirectly through your seller) with info about what happened, when, and what’s the serial number. And Inmotion engineers will look at the logs to diagnose it.