Newbie EUC Rider - Practice Drills / Questions

IronGoos3

Hi Everyone! 

Recently got interested in EUC's and took the plunge buying an InMotion V8F as a starter. I'm 6'1" 95kg so a bit heavier than most riders by the threads I've already read. I get the sentiment of frustration and excitement but I am motivated to push through the current calf pain and become more efficient on the wheel. So far this is my 2nd day on the wheel and I would say I'm about 5 hours in on practice.

I started practicing in my garden following the prescribed method, holding on to the wall and balancing back and forth, gliding to and fro supported by the wall, doing circles, mounting hopping on and dismounting. Today I moved to the common to get some more space so I am currently in a place where I can ride straight for 50 yards no problem, and have started working on turning. I seem to be getting the hang of turning the body and looking in the direction left/right, and have started working on straightening one leg and bending another. This is where I'm running into some issues, I can sometimes get the hang of it but other times I keep dumping it. I should note, I'm practicing on grass that has a few bumps and slight inclines and declines. I thought this would be a better idea since it seems more challenging and I wouldn't destroy my EUC! 

So I'm wondering if anyone has some tips on turning or drills I could practice?

Also what Tire Pressure would you recommend on grass vs on road, guess it's preference but I'm running 35psi for more traction?

Any other tips / tricks practice drills you would recommend?

Lastly any chance any members are in southwest London, looking for some help!?

And thanks to all of you for the excellent advice and posting on this forum!  

• Like 1

Thanks @yoos excellent advice!