Learn To Ride An EUC - A Detailed Written Guide - From Never-Ever To Expert

DJ_Cosmo

• 8 months later...

Just a humble addition: I wouldn't recommend a motorcyle helmet. Full-face for sure, but rather one for Mountainbike/Downhill. They are just so much lighter and more comfortable to wear.

• Like 1

Thanks this is great. I'm still learning and making a list in my mind of 'things to practice' and this helped me fill out that list. 

As an example, when you're learning to ride a fixed gear bike, you see all the little 'tricks' people are doing that help with control and understanding the bike, track stands, skid stops, etc. Those aren't as apparent on an EUC- at least I don't think they are. But they're coming clear, from the beginner stuff like being able to stop and start without holding onto something, then riding with one foot, turning in tiny circles, the pendulum. 

Good stuff.

I was lucky, using a screened fence at a tennis court was good enough for me. I used arm flailing to twist the EUC into direction of fall for balance, and to steer the EUC where I wanted it to go, flail left to steer right and vice versa. This seems to be instinctive for some new riders, including some very young kids around 6 years old in the videos I watched. When I switched to a long straight where I felt more comfortable going faster, I found that my V8F became stable at around 10 to 12 kph due to the combination of speed and steering response to tilt due to imbalance being enough to correct for the imbalance.

Edited by rcgldr

• 1 month later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 years later...
On 1/20/2021 at 11:31 PM, DJ_Cosmo said:

You simply must wear a full face helmet

so not true :P