MCM5 V2 knobby options?

Hey guys, I just ordered the MCM5 V2 for use a my primary winter wheel. Being that, a knobby would seem more ideal than the standard road tire. Anyone has done such & have experience with knobbies that will fit?

Would this fit?- https://www.amazon.ca/Wingsmoto-2-50x10-Knobby-2-5-10-SDG107/dp/B07JMSQ6SM/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=motorcycle+tire+250+-+10+10x2.5&qid=1608332206&sr=8-6

Thanks

Edited by Scottie888
  • Scottie888 changed the title to MCM5 V2 knobby options?

I'd say it would work but I have no experience with it, I looked at the clearance between my tire and shell on my V2 and it looks to be around 3-4mm on each side, the side knobs don't stick out much on the one you picked out so that will help, plus with that generous lug spacing, it should do a good job at self cleaning, wish I had experience with it, it looks like a good candidate.

No clue, but you might wanna investigate real tires, not cheap Chinese ones, considering there are a bunch of legit options at that size. Plus, BikeBandit will answer questions on real outer diameter; my 3" MCM5 mod required quite a bit of cutting the undershell edges with a Bridgestone HOOP measuring a true 15.5"-ish outer diameter, just about at the limit of free spin. Either way, you'll probably need to Dremel off a little under-shell, as the lower corners of the MCM5 undershell (not so much the top) tend to catch on bigger tire diameters.

https://www.bikebandit.com/tires-tubes/2-50-10-dirt-bike-tires/t11cg8fn

https://www.bikebandit.com/tires-tubes/2-75-10-dirt-bike-tires/t11w0mm3

• 3 weeks later...
25 minutes ago, btl said:

Since i love the CST C-186 ("the Sherman tire") on my MSX, i did order a CST C-183A in 2.50-10 size for my newly arrived MCM5 V2. I'll mount it as soon it arrives and report.

All right! Please let us know how that goes. IIRC the Sherm knobby has decently thick rubber on the knobs so it might be good enough to screw in some studs for real ice riding.