Suspension and longevity?

alcatraz

I wonder realistically, which suspension design so far is going to withstand the test of time?

I haven't read any reviews so I'm asking for your input.

But it seems to me that the air suspensions by Inmotion/Gotway are going to be dead sooner or later when they leak. Also as they start to deteriorate they will be a pain to keep at the right pressure. Every ride could be a gamble, will it work today? (I'm talking about a wheel several years old and past 10k km)

The kingsong design seems the only really sensible one to me. That shock can be replaced easily if it starts to act up. It should last longer as it's kept far away from the road/tire and their dirt/hazard.

I have no experience with shocks. I welcome disagreement. :)

Edited by alcatraz

1 hour ago, alcatraz said:

I wonder realistically, which suspension design so far is going to withstand the test of time?

I haven't read any reviews so I'm asking for your input.

But it seems to me that the air suspensions by Inmotion/Gotway are going to be dead sooner or later when they leak. Also as they start to deteriorate they will be a pain to keep at the right pressure. Every ride could be a gamble, will it work today? (I'm talking about a wheel several years old and past 10k km)

The kingsong design seems the only really sensible one to me. That shock can be replaced easily if it starts to act up. It should last longer as it's kept far away from the road/tire and their dirt/hazard.

I have no experience with shocks. I welcome disagreement. :)

I've worked and rebuilt shocks before, as a hobby on both bicycles and on motorcycles.

Now I've never worked on air shocks, but I'd bet they're much easier than spring shocks. Getting a spring back into the shock body is quite difficult, and it's very easy to mess up and strip the threads as well as injure yourself. Air shocks don't suffer from that, so I'd guess they're pretty easy to work on.