New rider, hot weather gear recommendations

Hi guys, I'm brand new to all of this. I just bought an mten3 for myself for Christmas and I'm wondering what kind of gear I need starting out. I'm in Honolulu, so it's hot almost all the time. Are there any recommendations on some light weight gear that won't bake me alive while I'm on my wheel? Safety gear is so much easier to choose when it's cold outside.

• Like 2

Hi Tommy, welcome to the world of wheels! I too have a Mten3 & I love it to bits. It's now my legs & I try my very best to not walk, jog or run (I get my exercise doing Kettlebells workouts😅). EUCs have made my life great again & is my antidote for all the lockdown crap.

Far's protection goes, ofcos the best answer's more the merrier & better. However in the pursuit of vanity & practicality, I'd say wrist/elbow/knee(shin?) guards with a fullface helmet is the least I'd go. If you ride your Mten3 at walking speeds, then perhaps a bicycle helmet will suffice.

Meanwhile you Hawaiians might envy us for our winters, we (or atleast I) in the Great White North am totally jealous of your island weather😠! Happy wheelin'

• Like 2

Thanks Scottie. Yeah I kinda figured I'd have to get decked out no matter what. The full face helmet seems like a lot, but I probably just don't realize how fast I'll be going on this thing. Unfortunately I have to wait until the end of the month before mine will arrive 😔 but that give me time to get geared up I guess.

Any recommendations on some good brands/gear? I liked the look of the armored hoodie, but there's no way I'd be able to wear that in the heat.

Yah I moved not too long ago from the great wet north (Seattle) so I don't envy the cold any more 😁

LOLs Ya I spent a number of years in the WestWet Coast (Vancouver to be exact) too & when its good, its so so good but when its bad its so so bad (wait...isn't that a song somewhere😆).