Batteries in paralell

Oily

Evening all,

So having now been EUC'ing for nearly a month, I'm now doing a hybrid commute of 4 miles (each way) per day of some walking & some EUC'ing.

I've only got a 132 battery, and could happily up my commute to about 7 miles, but 4 is about my upper limit (I'm about 93kgs).

I've managed to source another 132 battery which is the same make & spec, so am planning on squeezing it in/on my EUC to double my range (or reading some posts, possibly more than double ?).

I work in IT, and although very happy playing with electrics, I need some reassurance!  Looking around it looks like I can literally remove some insulation from the existing battery wires & just splice in the same terminal from the new battery (once they are both either full charged or discharged). Charge time will be doubled, volts the same, but AMPS doubled....

If this works, my next mission is to hit Alibaba after Christmas & probably go down the 500W motor & 30kmh board route with a 340 battery & hope for 10+ miles.....  :)

Olly

If you can fit the battery in your EU, why not simplify the process and just create a Y-connector for the batteries?

y-connector.thumb.jpg.3d0a47d5c8a37bbcad

http://www.amazon.com/Foxnovo-Parallel-Connector-Extension-Splitter/dp/B00MNBGIVY/ref=pd_sim_21_4?ie=UTF8&dpID=414T-2zRUIL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR160%2C160_&refRID=0N6M6CPF30E8N54FPZMA

You just need to make sure you have the right connectors.  This way you don't have to modify your existing batteries at all and you could always remove one of the batteries if you choose in the future.

Wow, nice Y cable!  Let me know if this works.  I think it will - though the batteries are supposed to be balanced.  The other option is swapping the batteries - you could rig the cable out of the shell and from outside, disconnect the internal battery and connect the external battery for round 2!

The safety issue is if the external battery gets damaged a minor chance of "failure."