16X Troubleshooting & Questions for Newbies

mploy1515

Hi everyone!

First post here, and glad to know there's such a strong community!

Brief introduction before I get into it: I'm a fresh EUC newbie, and my very first wheel to learn on is the KS-16x. I'm aware it's quite an advanced (and heavy) wheel to learn on, but overall it's been a short, but rewarding journey. I've had ownership for about 4 weeks now, and although I haven't had time to practice every day, I've put in a good dozen or so practice sessions / runs now. It's amazing what I've learned along the way, and it's been physically and even mentally rewarding. And being 39, going into my 40's, it's great to find a new and surprising hobby to get me outdoors. Like a lot of new riders I can imagine, I've been obsessed, immersing myself with YouTube EUC tutorials for help and guidance along the way, as us noobs need all the help we can get. Learning how to ride has been completely discouraging at first, and has put quite a number on my shins and ankles. However, now I'm reliably mounting, cruising, turning, and loving every second on I'm it. I'm at the level now to where I'm focusing on mastering control and carving / dips, etc. I've also learned along the way what a lot of tutorials don't tell you: Learning how to ride is not just about technique you can watch from a video, but rather building confidence and muscle memory; these are the two aspects you have to build, I've learned, that you simply can't absorb from watching a video.

Anyways -- long story short, specifics I've learned from riding the KS-16x:

The app is pretty bad. It's things like connecting to it via BT, confirming settings, calibrations, etc etc. that have my scratching my head wondering if it's 1) the shitty app, or 2) if something is 'broken' from one of the many falls this wheel took while I was learning how to ride.