Hello!

I have a second set of LEDs (with the wiring/connector) pulled from another minipro. I'd like to wire them onto my ninebot s, as a second set of headlights, but I have zero knowledge of electrical theory.

My idea is that if connected in parallel to the existing lighting, it ought to be possible for the second set of LEDs to simply draw the extra power needed, without affecting anything else on the unit or upsetting it.

My hope is that this might be achieved simply by splicing wires together, but the fact that there are three wires is what confuses me. Might it be as simple as splicing each of the three wires to its counterpart? Does anyone with electrical knowledge, or even specifically knowledge of the electrical systems, have any advice on how/if this configuration might be possible to achieve?

Thanks for any help!

Programmable LED strips usually work off 5v DC with 3 wires  - ground, data, and 5v .  But sounds like you are talking about an on/off headlamp?  Usually these are part of a PCB that connects to the mainboard - if your idea is to cut the existing cable to solder in parallel, you will have same voltage but a current drop as you drive twice the load. PCB of the led light might have some logic to detect undercurrent etc and not work at all - but  you can restore the original setup if it does not work...

• Like 2

On 9/18/2020 at 4:06 PM, amelanso said:

Usually these are part of a PCB that connects to the mainboard - if your idea is to cut the existing cable to solder in parallel [...]