Using both legs to mount/dismount

Skecys

Are any people here able to use either leg for mounting/dismounting? Most youtubers I follow seem to use their strong leg exclusively, as do I. But I have had unforeseen situations where I had to dismount quickly using my "weak" leg, obviously struggling. I have since tried learning using said weak leg but have run into lots of aches and muscle soreness/trouble. I find it amusing there can be such a difference between my legs (ankles) even though I don't notice it in daily life.

• Like 1

When I was first learning, I treated being able to mount and dismount with both legs to be basic proficiency. I figured it was something I needed to be able to do to be safe riding. On the MTen3, I did frequently use both legs. When I started riding an MSX, I was only able to mount with my dominant leg at first. And yes, a few days in I ended up in an unbalanced stop and dismounted on the weak/untrained side. I had trouble controlling the wheel and rammed the pedal into my ankle. Took off some skin and had a swollen ankle for a few days.

Now that I'm thinking about it, I've fallen into the habit of only using my dominant leg again.  Need to fix that. Thanks for the reminder. :)

• Like 1