Idle Noises V8F

Johnson Lai

Hello. Newbie here.

I just bought a V8F. When the unit is on, it makes a high-pitched electronic noise (like a combination of static and radio interference) that's just loud enough to be a bit annoying. The sound cuts out if I press the kill-engine button under the handle.

Inmotion tells me it's a normal sound. Is that your experience as well? I was always under the impression that the wheel is silent when not in motion (no pun intended), like an electric car or e-scooter. Is this the same for other EUC brands?

That said, I was indoors. Maybe it'll be less noticeable outside.

Thanks!

• Upvote 1

I have a V8F too. I know what sound you are talking about. It does sound like a little scratchy electronic noise. I only hear it indoors when I first got it. Outside, the wind is loud enough to drown out the sound. Its normal. My V8F rides fine. Its a great wheel!

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

I have a V8F and it makes that noise too, but quietly enough that it's a non-issue, especially since I live near a highway. I figured it was just interference sounding through the internal speakers.

• Like 1

19 hours ago, Toad said:

On my V8F, the traditional mode and "comfort mode" make different noises. 

The comfort mode noise is more comfortable.  ;-)

:lol:

Have you figured out what else the comfort mode does? I feel no difference.

The sound is normal and only hearable when not standing on the wheel, so... never mind. I guess it comes from the magnets balancing the wheel.

• Like 1

The "comfort mode" noise (while moving) seems less irritating to dogs.

It might be my imagination, but "comfort mode" makes it easier for an ungraceful pilot to mount the unicycle.  I think "comfort mode" tolerates a tiny bit more footplate tilt before powering up the wheel to move one way or the other. 

every wheel in existence makes noise, idle and riding.. some are just more noticeable than others