How many KM/Miles before you arent a rookie?

I know its a person by person basis. I also know that we progress at much different rates. Also, mileage isnt much an indication of talent. I guess what I'm wondering is...

At what point did you finally feel confident in calling yourself anything other than a horrible newbie?

Subjective as it may be, I'm just curious. I've never ridden with another euc and most of these youtube videos are FULL of people doing some VERY NOT beginner riding. I still call myself a total newbie and no good on the wheel, but am looking forward to the day I can legitimately claim "I'm decent". Will it take 3 years, 3000miles and 2 wheels to finally get out of the lowest ranks? Perhaps its a totally loaded question? I dont care, Im always a sucker for a good opinion based debate.  What yall think? When do you consider someone properly versed in the euc realm? At what point in your euc glide life, did you feel confident in claiming you were no longer a total rookie? Yes i know, who gives a fu** about titles and what other people think, spare me that or this wont be any fun to discuss.

Edited by ShanesPlanet
  • Like 1

My thought is that we're talking about many small steps. I've ridden about 600km / 400 mi so far, mainly on my Nikola. I reckon I've taken the first step up the ladder now. I've greatly improved my miserable sense of balance, I'm not afraid to fall off at any moment in time any more. I can travel at a reasonable speed and can take smaller bumps and potholes without sh*tting myself. So for me it was about 400 miles to get one small step up the ladder. More steps to follow...

• Like 2