tips any for reverse

1Boostin

Still pretty fresh into the euc world(just tipped over 70 miles of riding), Ive been playing with reverse riding and turns. 

Any pointers on how to ride more consistently backwards. 

and turning in reverse too?

Currently I can toss it backwards and ride around 10 ft, but i don't quite have that stability to feel confident yet.

• Like 1

I've had luck backing up with a shopping cart to practice, I still haven't mastered reversing in any meaningful way though, and I've been riding more or less daily for over 3 years and 7000 miles... all going forward. Sometimes I wonder if I've got more of a "wall" there now because the muscle memory for which way to pivot/lean is so ingrained in muscle memory and you need to reverse that response to ride in reverse, I think. 

Edited by tudordewolf

I’m also a long time forwarder, but I have a little success in reversing and doing three point 180• turns. What I’ve found that reversing gets a lot easier for me if I slowly wiggle the wheel left and right a bit. For some reason it makes the corrections much easier for me to handle.

Man, I have been trying to ride backwards for quite a while.  It took a long time to go from 10 feet to 40 feet.  The problem I've got now is that once I start turning ... I can't straighten it back up, I can only keep turning left and right, lol.  And only on the MTen3, I can't ride my other wheels backwards yet either.

I think it might help to learn to "idle" first (on a wheel that won't explode when you do that).  Then, instead of reversing from backwards to forwards ... just keep going backwards.  The MTen3 is good for idling, the little wheel changes directions faster than my other wheels.

Edited by xorbe
  • Like 1