360 cameras - which one is the best?

Aneta

I want to buy a 360-degree camera, but I'm a complete noob at 360 cameras. (I currently use GoPro 7 Black, it's great!) Insta One X seems to be popular. Is the new GoPro Max better? Which one has the least artifacts where it stitches the frames? Which one has the best, most intuitive and easy to use software for choosing/rotating point of view?

• Like 1

I am also very interested in the answer to this. It seems to GoPro Max was released, but Amazon and everyone else doesn't have it available to order. There is a lack of serious reviews by regular people because I don't think it's readily available. The GoPro Max has in camera stitching while the InstaOne X does not.

https://360rumors.com/first-gopro-max-hands-reviews-posted/

I think it might be best to wait until we hear a little more about how the Max works in the real world. 

• Like 1

For starters, I want to use a 360 camera on my helmet as a "see it all" dashcam, just in case something dangerous happens - e.g. a car passes too close or cuts me off as in road rage. Is the resolution of these cameras good enough to read the license plate of a passing car?

• Like 1

GoPro Max is staring to become available. It started shipping on Oct 22nd.

I just looked at some footage I took with GoPro Max and I think it'll be pretty hard to read license plates of passing cars to be honest. I looked at some parked cars I rode past on the SF group ride a few weeks ago, and it's difficult to make out the plates.

• Like 2

I use the older insta 360 one that shoots only 4K. I’m very happy with mine, There is a newer version, insta 360 one X that shoots 5.7k. It’s resonantly priced compared to the go pro 360.

The GoPro Max has the benefit of a screen, which makes the UI much easier to navigate. It also can function as a super-stabilized conventional action camera. There are a lot of other nice features, like PowerPano too.