Is EUC safe on road?

Skiboard17

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie euc rider and a teenager. I rode IPS three years ago, and it was sold when we were moving. My dad got me a solowheel glide 3 after months of pleading, and right now we are concerned about the safety for the wheel to go on road. So I want to hear what you guys think about the safety.

I think it's pretty safe to go on road. I always wear bike helmet, wrist guards, and knee pads. I rode on bike path mostly, or on the side of the car lane when there is no bike lane and the car lane is wide. The rest of time I ride on bike path (sidewalk). I usually rode 12-15 mph and slow down when I don't feel safe. Overall I think I'm a cautious rider. 

My dad argues that it's not safe to go on road. Even though he knows I ride super carefully, he says there are always those dangerous drivers (like the 90-year lady next door :mellow:), and I'm not capable to undergo even one accident since I'm too young. He says, since this invention is too new to the rest of the world, people wouldn't expect you while driving. In addition, he wants me to treat this wheel as a toy instead of a transportation tool, and he doesn't allow me to ride it to any place over 2 miles......

Guys I want to hear about your opinions on wheel safety on road. I couldn't find much useful information about this topic anywhere. Please share your experience and opinions, and this might help other hesitating potential riders, too. Most importantly, try to be reasonable and objective. This is basically a research instead of a party for wheel enthusiasts. Thank you guys so much!

It's as safe as crossing the street you take all reasonable steps and judge when safe to cross 

You can't predict the future or the drink driver or some dick texting when driving 

Just be vigilant (and be seen) as you would when riding yr bike 

Modern EUCs are a tad faster that the bike but 

PPE and respect for other road users you should be fine