Getting my groove on

M640x

Noob here.  Bought my first ever EUC last month.  Been learning, falling, jumping off etc.  I have approx 32 miles on my KS14S.  Yeah I know, not much but there's a good reason.  I picked up starting / stopping pretty quickly. Same thing for turning. Believe it or not my biggest hurdle has been going straight. I don't know why but it has always been the biggest challenge as far as balance goes.  It's also always felt very uncomfortable.  I'll just be slowly going and pretty smooth and then wham, I go one way and the wheel goes another.  I'd describe it as the same feeling as if someone kicked the back of the wheel sideways.  I couldn't go more than approximately 30 or 40 ft without the wheel becoming completely unmanageable.  I know from other things I've learned that persistence is the key.  With this wheel, I really need to put on the miles and time but it's been difficult to get the miles in when I can't go straight... until today.

I found information online pertaining to using a staggered stance on the wheel to gain stability.  Thank you evX and Duf (YouTube) for that info.  The idea is to have one foot a couple of inches farther forward than the other foot on the foot pads.  So today I tried it and I have to say that it worked instantly.  It was much more comfortable and I had much more stability right away.  I was able to go straight with no more problems.

Having my feet side by side with toes pointing straight ahead isnt how I stand naturally so it's no wonder I've been uncomfortable on the wheel.  I know I need to put a lot more miles in and it really sucked not being able to go straight so I could do that.  Up to today I was more comfortable turning than going straight.  Anyway tomorrow I finally get to go on a longer ride and hopefully run the battery all the way down on my KS.