How to know when your “ready” for the road?

I just did a load of bike lanes today (I'm very new to this).  Was pretty confident in the area I'm in but the traffic is light and the road is good.  Grass verge on the side in case.  The other road was a frontage road with very little traffic (I avoided commute hours because the traffic would get insane even on the frontage road). I kept as near the curb as possible (with safety margin). I think some of it is confidence but a lot of it is about being situationally aware.  I would get off the road whenever I could just to avoid blocking traffic or diverting their attention from driving.

I'll post my video shortly once it's finished rendering.

Edited by Gazza-usa
  • Like 1

I went started commuting way too early. Like @Rehab1 said, looking over my shoulder was turning me and I was still using the light pole at signals to get back on. 

In hindsight being able to look for traffic and confidently free mount and take off (in case you need to move quickly from a stand still) would have been valuable skills to have. 

This part of training went by fast. Commuting 5 days a week will force ya to learn fast.

I was dumb enough to do this in a suit and dress shoes for the 1st 2 weeks. It wasnt until I had a good crash off road (day off wearing gear) that I really realized I need to just bring dress shoes and wear one of my motorcycle jackets, and knee pads, on my commute. 

I do think part of the "litmus" test is feeling ready though. I treat these like slow motorcycles. Do do anything you dont feel up too. Those feelings can cause a pause at just the wrong time.

I'm sure we are all old enough not to have an over confidence problem. :cheers:

• Like 1