Oklahoma City or Tulsa riders?

GaryL

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi Gary,

I am new to the EUC community. I am 71 years old and bought my first wheel ... King Song 18XL ... last month. I live on the SE side of OKC so all my riding now is at Lake Draper. I've already been pulled over by a cop on the new trails out there and told I could not ride on the trails. He couldn't tell me any ordinance stating that. I had an ordinance which states that e-bikes have all rights as other bikes. It is up for dispute. I called the Parks and Recreation department and received a pretty good vibe from them that they will possibly allow E-bikes on the trails. They will have a meeting on Monday and reach out to me on Tuesday of next week to let me know how it went. I am still riding on the trails every day. If you haven't been there, you should check it out. When it is all complete around the first of October, the paved trail will be 13 miles long. 

• 2 weeks later...

I'm on a KS16s, so I don't know if I can do trails. I have been to downtown OKC for a few urban rides on sidewalks and streets. Would you be interested in riding at some city parks or maybe downtown? 

The trails at Stanley Draper are not really trails, as such. It is all brand new paved roads for bicycles, walkers, joggers, etc. It is supposed to be completed in early October. I went out yesterday and rode thirty miles. It is a great place and very safe. Just don't go real fast around walkers, kids, or joggers. It appears that you also fly a powered paraglider. I have been flying the same Fresh Breeze for fifteen years. I am out at Lake Draper at least five days a week. The best place to park is at the marina area. There is a brand new, huge, parking lot. You can Google the address. There is also a small group of people on the Facebook page called Oklahoma OKC Onewheel where you can find some likeminded people.