KNEE BRACES

Hi All, I was wondering if any of you wear a knee brace while riding. I was in a park yesterday with my ks18xl the grass field had lots of bumps, today i feel pain in the sides of my knees. i'm a beginner. But 50lbs of weight between knees can't be good for knee health.

Maybe a knee brace would put less strain and also help in a crash. I'm thinking of buying this kind to keep patella in place. see photo.

any thoughts? would it become uncomfortable or hinder maneuverability?

51RFAfejiSL._SL1001_.jpg

• Like 1

Squats daily has helped me. Also bouncing on one foot imitating the bumps. Newly used muscles just need building up a bit. Won’t take long :D

re: brace, I think might be a negative when you stop using it as muscles relied on it.

Edited by RoCan
  • Like 1

I agree with both @tessa25 and @RoCan that relying on knee braces instead of strengthening the quadriceps will only atrophy that muscle group in the long run. There is a plethora of  quality quad exercises on Youtube. Just take your time and don’t over exert yourself while performing the exercises. Listen to your body. 

I myself wear bilateral ACL knee braces but only when I’m planning to ride off road. 

• Upvote 2

My issue with knee pain when learning to ride was due to Supination it turns out. 

I started working on standing properly and magically my knee pain went away. Bad thing is I dealt with knee pain for years and had scopes xrays etc and turned out I just needed to relearn to walk lol 

On 7/23/2019 at 10:33 AM, prasket said:

My issue with knee pain when learning to ride was due to Supination it turns out. 

I started working on standing properly and magically my knee pain went away. Bad thing is I dealt with knee pain for years and had scopes xrays etc and turned out I just needed to relearn to walk lol 

Could you elaborate please? I think I'm hitting this as well. How did you relearn to walk?

On 7/22/2019 at 7:44 AM, Supafast said: