Nikola Pads

Ok don’t laugh. Newbie here. How are you guys sticking the pads to the wheel? When I pull my backing off the pad the sticky part is on the backing and not the pad. I can’t see where it’s double sided. What am I missing? Thanks. 

Welcome to the Nikola family. I just got mine yesterday. Had the same issue, the adhesive wanted to stay with the backing and not the pad. You need to reapply the backing to the pad and try to get it to adhere. Then, use a tweezer or something to separate the edge of the backing so you can peel it away while keeping the adhesive attached to the pad. You could use the same technique to separate the adhesive from the backing and then apply it to the pad, but the adhesive layer is very thin and susceptible to getting stuck to itself without the backing. Best to work with the backing on as much as possible until the adhesive layer is attached to the pad and you are ready to connect it to your EUC.

• Upvote 1

58 minutes ago, who_the said:

Welcome to the Nikola family. I just got mine yesterday. Had the same issue, the adhesive wanted to stay with the backing and not the pad. You need to reapply the backing to the pad and try to get it to adhere. Then, use a tweezer or something to separate the edge of the backing so you can peel it away while keeping the adhesive attached to the pad. You could use the same technique to separate the adhesive from the backing and then apply it to the pad, but the adhesive layer is very thin and susceptible to getting stuck to itself without the backing. Best to work with the backing on as much as possible until the adhesive layer is attached to the pad and you are ready to connect it to your EUC.

Thanks man. This unit is very different from my KS18XL. I’ll post about it. 

The pad backing sucks! I had my daughters working at it for a while before they could properly separate the tape.  I made my own pads which are vastly superior.