EUC (Inmotion V8) Protection Questions after reading almost the entire forum

Hi I am new to EUC,

I recently bought the Inmotion V8 and I drive in Brussels. I quickly bought a basic skateboard protection set from Decathlon however after reading all the threads here I feel like this might not be sufficient. How safe do you have to be on a EUC that goes 30km/h? 

I read somewhere that wrist protection and helmets are most important. However, I read somewhere else that wrist protection is not good because it can lead to more complicated fractures on the lower arm when you fall and that also a simple bicycle helmet is not safe enough.

I use my EUC for daily commute and of course sometimes push it to the limit. For commuting you usually want to be fast so after a few rides I already feel annoyed by putting knee and elbow protection. Last time I just drove with wrist and helmet. Is this however sufficient?

I am currently thinking of upgrading to a full face helmet and to buy the triple eight hired hands wrist guards and for the rest ignore the knee and elbow protection or get soft padding that I could keep under my clothes all day. I also wear suits sometimes to work and to be honest it looks ridiculous wearing skateboard protection over a suit.

Any tips are more then welcome.

Thanks!

Hi @Pieter Louwers, welcome!

A casual motorcycle jacket is also an option you want to look for. But for me personally, riding responsibly and carefully has been much safer for my 3 years of EUC than gears dependency. YMMV though. Hope this helps! :cheers:

Different people have different tolerance for risk. I ride with people who gear up with all the goodies and others who ride with barely any. Some ride for pleasure, some ride for speed, some plebs even commute :D.