Voltmeter on EUC?

Ophicleide

Hi All, 

Although I'm a newb, I'm thinking of fitting in a digital voltmeter to my TG when it arrives, as well as the shunt mod. I'm just a little nervous about the concept of being thrown off the EUC at low voltage and it would be nice to look down and see a number instead of 1, 2, 3 or 4 lights.

Has anyone done this kind of thing?

Yup, done it.

4gt127A.jpg

That's a combined voltage- & current-display (current measuring needs a separate resistor-shunt between the power cable, and that's pretty big), and needs separate power for voltages above 30V DC (hence the battery casing with the red on/off button for the display).

The easiest approach is to use a "self-powering" voltage-only display that draws it's usage voltage directly from the measured wires, with large enough voltage range, for example:

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Shipping-0-56-Green-LED-DVM-Voltage-Panel-Meter-LED-4-5-150V-Digital-DC/912492417.html

There are different sizes & colors available, I've got one of these also, and another that goes up to 100V... do check that it can power itself up to at least 70V from the measured wires, unless you want to use separate power source, in the above picture I used a 9V battery. Also worth checking that it has calibrating screw behind it (the one I linked has, the other I got doesn't), sometimes the meters can be off when they arrive.

Would this realistically help you predict when the battery is unsafe to use?