Learning to Ride: Twisting and Speed are Key

erk1024

Thanks @erk1024.  I'm a newbie who's made it past that initial phase of achieving stable forward motion, so what the heck, I'll contribute my erudite "knowledge!"  What I'd say about twisting vs. tilting is that at speed, tilting (by bending one knee and straightening the other knee, and tilting the entire wheel off vertical) is the primary means of directional and stability control.  At slow speeds, tilting does work also, but it has to be exaggerated.  I've had the wheel tilted at what felt like 30 degrees while practicing circles in a parking lot at walking speed, because that was the only way to get a useful turning radius via tilting at that speed.  Therefore, at very slow (walking) speed I found that a twist, or a lean combined with a twist, works very well, but at higher speeds the twist becomes increasingly unnecessary and increasingly unpredictable/dangerous.  At faster speeds the only time I've done a twist was in case of a sudden unexpected upset, like going over a crack in the asphalt, and in those cases the twist is tiny, almost subliminal.  I hope this makes some kind of sense.

• Upvote 1

The problem with all this technical talk is it makes things worse for the beginner. Because they start thinking about it. And you absolutely don’t want to be thinking about what you’re doing. 

I have excellent success teaching people. I keep my prompts very simple and never explain to people the technical details or what they’re doing because it will cause them to rationalize instead of using instinct. 

What happened to most of us is we fail enough times and suddenly it “clicks” and we can slowly but surely ride as long as we want in a straight line. That moment is your brain finely coordinating with your body in sync, something that can’t be done at a rational thinking level because thinking isn’t fast enough.