Time to Dump Paypal?

PayPal could have been very gentle with you, instead of hauling you out of the parking garage and bending you over the radio car hood.

Time have changed.

I use Paypal because of the convenience factor (I don't have to provide a merchant my credit card or all the shipping details, etc.).

But originally Paypal was a great service that allowed people to transfer funds for things like EBay, and was not used in commercial transactions (to the best of my memory).

Surely the vast majority of people that use Paypal have a credit card that they can use directly with the merchant. So it's really no loss if the merchants stop offering Paypal. I suppose why people like Jason see Paypal as a benefit is that its use offers the potential customer a low-friction means of making a purchase. Low-friction probably equates to more sales.

• Like 2

Hmm. Glad I saw this. Thank you for keeping us in the loop Jason. I work as a buyer so fortunately on my end I won't be impacted by refunds, but I do buy thousands of dollars of unwanted inventory using paypal on a regular basis. Will be interesting to see what effect it might have on my vendors, if they send me a bunch of junk and I need a refund, might not go down well if they are unaware of the new policy.

• Like 1

I've see the numbers, it's not that the company doesn't earn much, they earn more than enough for a continent! :o but still, they want MOAAAR.. 

Since i saw the video the other day i'm searching for alternatives, Stripe / N26 (transfer funds first then use), ..

I'm open to suggestions...

Not quite wrong, cause for example in Europe, there are many stores that accept paypal, some of these store are owned by people here and a small number of them i can consider friends. They haven't seen that things changed with charges and it's good to discuss about it cause wheels tend to cost more than enough to break a store's profit margin.